Alan C Scott Esq., National Planning Policy Framework, Department for Communities and Local Government, Eland House, Bressenden Place, London SW1E 5DU

12th October 2011

From: Hon.Chairman, Lower Sunbury Residents' Association (LOSRA)

Dear Mr Scott,

Draft National Planning Policy Framework – Response to Consultation

The attached response to the draft NPPF is forwarded for your attention please.

The Lower Sunbury Residents' Association is a properly constituted body which has been established for over 40 years. It represents the interests of some 4000 households within Spelthorne and is strictly apolitical. The Borough, in London's "Urban Fringe" (as defined by the South east Regional Assembly), is co-terminus with the Parliamentary constituency of the same name. At the last election voters returned a Conservative candidate with a majority of 10,019. It is not unreasonable to suppose that our membership would reflect a corresponding profile of political affiliation.

It should first be said that this Association is emphatically not against sustainable and appropriate development. Indeed, as I write, we are actively supporting a new development of 50 homes on a windfall site; and are currently in positive discussions with developers for a further 50 dwellings on a brownfield site, both within Lower Sunbury.

On 29th September a draft of the response was posted on our Website: <u>www.losra.org</u> inviting members to comment, and it was discussed in detail by the 12 Committee members at our monthly meeting on 11th October. The response to the draft NPPF has been amended as necessary and I can now confirm the support of our membership in the submission of this, the final draft.

Yours sincerely,

John Hirsh, Hon. Chairman LOSRA 21, School Walk, Lower Sunbury, Middlesex, TW16 6RB. Email: <u>johnphirsh@gmail.com</u> Web: <u>www.losra.org</u>

cc. Mr Kwasi Kwarteng MP

- Cllr. Vivienne Leighton, Leader of Spelthorne Borough Council
- Cllr. Richard Smith-Ainsley, Deputy Leader of Spelthorne Borough Council
- Cllr. Gerry Forsbrey, Chairman, Planning Committee
- Ms. Heather Morgan, Head of Planning Services
- Mr. John Brooks, Head of Planning Policy